Along Highway 131, not far from the Nuraghe Losa, we find one of the best-known and most fascinating monuments in Sardinia: the well temple of Santa Cristina. The well temple was once the pivot of a complex which included other surrounding buildings, only some of which are still visible. Two areas can still be distinguished, today divided by the church and the ‘cumbessias’ – houses used by the faithful at the time of religious celebrations, built around the 1800s. One area is that of the well temple, associated with the meeting hut with enclosure and a series of other buildings. This underground temple certainly represents one of the peaks of nuraghic architectural mastery. It is constructed of perfectly squared stone blocks forming an access stairway leading down into a chamber with corbelled ceiling of exceptionally good workmanship. The water still today reaches the bottom of the chamber, filtering through its walls. Near the meeting hut there are some rooms with square, rectangular and circular ground plans, only the bottom courses of which remain: almost certainly these were lodgings for the priests of the water cult and the pilgrims, but there must also have been small sales stalls for the market held on the occasion of religious celebrations. The site was in use from 1200 to 700 BC.